Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes October 16, 2014 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Reitz Union Auditorium

Pradeep Kumar called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m. September 2014 minutes were approved.

Chair's Report

Pradeep Kumar, Faculty Senate Chair

• President Machen introduced the Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Dr. Steve Scott. Dr. Scott is in his second year as a member of the Board of Trustees. He was also the Chair of the Presidential Search Committee. Dr. Scott gave background information about the recent search for a new UF President. He explained how he tried to reach as many of UF constituents as possible for their input. Traveling around the country, he visited with academic leaders explaining about UF criteria and what the university has to offer.

Provost's Report

Joe Glover, Provost

- A groundbreaking ceremony was held Friday for the new chemistry building.
- Discussion is going on about the renovations of Newell Hall which will be a student use facility.
- On December 11 & 12, 2014, the university will hold a two day conference titled "Future of Graduate Education and Research". The Conference will have three major speakers: Hunter Rawlings, President of the AAU, Rodney Erickson, Emeritus President from Penn State University, and Deborah Stewart, President Emeritus of the Council of Graduate Schools
- Search for the Dean of the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences has started. Search Chair is Elaine Turner, Dean of College of Agricultural and Life Sciences.

Information Items:

<u>Department Structure Change</u>

Bernard Mair, Associate Provost,

in the College of Nursing Undergraduate Affairs

• <u>Dean Anna McDaniels</u> gave a short presentation explaining the proposed Department Structure change for the College of Nursing.

Harn Museum of Art as a Resource

Eric Segal, Education Curator of Academic Programs

Samuel P. Harn Museum of Art

 Mr. Segal gave a presentation on the Harn Museum and how it can be used as a resource for diverse courses of the university.

Meeting adjourned at 3:57 p.m.

Senators Attending

Carrie Adams	Trevor Bopp	Deborah Cupples
Mirna Amaya	Jeannine Brady	Paul Davenport
Pasha Antonenko	Kendal Broad	Keith Diem
Jane Bachelor	Samantha Brooks	Silvio dos Santos
Derek Barber	Jason Butler	Robert Emerson
Lars Beattie	Clay Calvert	Kitty Emery
Jim Bice	Edward Chan	Katerie Gladdys
Amlan Biswas	Christa Cook	Renee Goodrich

Charles Haddad
Darryl Heard
Satya Hegde
Phyllis Hendry
Cindy Higgins
Daniel Hoh
Amanda House
Aida Hozic
Ray Issa

Delores James
Rae Jesano
Melissa Johnson
Edit Kaan
Joseph Katz
Mary Agnes Keith
Hayk Khachatryan
Dmitry Kopelevich
Dragan Kujundzic

Mei-Fang Lan
Haniph Latchman
Lora Levette
Gillian Lord
Alex Lucas
Bill Mahan
Volker Mai
Gene Mcavoy
Kimberly Moore

Paul Mueller

Larry Muszynski

Vasudha Narayanan Josh Neumann Esther Obonyo Walter O'Dell Barbara Pace Jorg Peters Anna Peterson Andrew Pitkin

Cindy Prins Patrick Reakes Sarah Reuss

Alice Rhoton-Vlasak Jeffrey Rollins

Andrew Rosalsky Richard Rose Beverly Sanders Susan Schaffer

John Schueller

Susan Semple-Rowland

Nipa Shah SA Sherif Steve Shugan
Dietmar Siemann
Daniel Siragusa
Meera Sitharam
Lauren Solberg
Maya Stanfield-Mazzi

Keith Stanfill Laurie Taylor David Therriault Ray Thomas Sonal Tuli

Katie Vogel-Anderson Ann Wehmeyer Bruce Welt Karen Whalen Nicole Whitehead Joe Wilson

Sandra Wilson
Caroline Wiltshire
Yafeng Yin

Henry Young
Mary Ellen Young
Robert Zori

Liaisons

Joe Glover Marc Heft Pradeep Kumar Bernie Machen Anna McDaniel Barbara Wingo

Students Mirna Amaya Josh Neumann Andrew Giacini

Guests

Wes Bolem Bernard Mair Eric Segal Steven M. Scott